top of page
Home: Welcome
strawberrys.jpeg

 Raised Baking

  • Pinterest
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram
Home: Blog2
Writer's pictureSophie

Hawaiian Cornflake Butter Cookies

The first time I tried these cookies was when my Grandma (who lives part time in Hawaii) brought back a giant bag full of these little delights and 9 year old me was totally enamored. They were sensitively sweet, crispy, a bit salty, buttery and the best use of cornflakes I had yet to experience, who new this often bland breakfast cereal could be so wondrous?

I hadn't eaten them for years, but for some reason they popped into my mind a while ago and I realized, "I could make them myself!", a bit of experimentation made me notice how much the cookies rely on butter for flavor; but a combination of vegan butter + coconut oil make an equally (maybe even more) satisfying substitution. When I took these out of the oven, the smell got me so excited, I tried one and was jumping for joy :)





 

Ingredients (for about 2 dozen cookies)

 

130g vegan butter

77g coconut oil*

134g sugar

2 Tbs yogurt

260g flour

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

1 heaping cup of cornflakes (or another cereal you like!)



*you can replace this with more vegan butter, however the coconut oil adds a subtle taste that helps to enhance the cookie's flavor (it is not distinctly coconuty, but it does make it taste a little nutty and sweet)


 

Instructions

 

1. Preheat the oven to 180°C or 350°F and prepare a baking tray.

2. Cream the butter, oil and sugar until light and fluffy, then add in the yogurt and whip again. Fold in the flour, salt and baking powder to make a dough, then mix in your cornflakes.

3. Scoop or roll the dough into balls and bake for 12-15 minutes or until golden brown. Enjoy fresh, but they will keep in an airtight container for a week.







Comments


Subscribe Form

Stay up to date

bottom of page